

RE-ACCREDITED WITH 'A+' GRADE BY NAAC IN 2017

Erandwane, Pune — 411 038. Ph: - +91-20-25444616. EMAIL: newlawcollege@yahoo.co.in

To
Hon'ble Vice Chancellor/ Dean/ Principal

Subject: 8<sup>th</sup> Justice P.N. Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition on Human Rights on March, 24-25, 2018

## Respected Sir/ Madam,

It gives us a great pleasure to invite you to the 8<sup>th</sup> Justice P.N. Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition on Human Rights to be held in our College on 24<sup>th</sup> & 25<sup>th</sup> March, 2018. We would be delighted to have your institution participate in the said competition.

Bharati Vidyapeeth which has grown from mere a sapling to an ark recently marked the completion of its 50 glorious years of existence and academic excellence in the arena of education. Recently, we have celebrated the Golden Jubilee Year and commemorated the journey of our institute by rejoicing the illustrious path of academic and intellectual triumph.

Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed To Be University New Law College, Pune is one of the premier institutes consistently ranked amongst the top law colleges in India. The College has secured 6th rank by India Today Magazine (4th Factual) in its special issue of 2017, 5th rank by Outlook Magazine- 2017, 3<sup>rd</sup> Rank by Careers 360 Magazine - 2017 and 5<sup>th</sup> Rank by the WEEK Magazine-2017.

Recently in 2017, the College is re-accredited with 'A+' Grade by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), an organization that assesses and accredits institutions of higher education in India. The Ministry of Human Resource Development has also conferred 'A' Grade to our institution. Besides this, the College has also received the 'Gold Star Award' from the Bar Council of India.

More than 175 Judges from Supreme Court & High Courts have graced New Law College, Pune and enlightened our law students on various occasions. Apart from this, our institution is graced by the visit of the former President of India, Hon'ble Shri. Pranab Mukharjee, Hon'ble Mrs. Pratibha Tai Patil, Former President of India, Hon'ble Shri. V.P. Singh, Former Prime Minister of India, Hon'ble Smt. Sonia Gandhi, President UPA-II, Member of Parliament like Hon'ble Shri. Rahul Gandhi, Hon'ble Shri. Shatrughan Sinha, Hon'ble Mrs. Supriya Sule, Hon'ble Shri. Ram Jethmalani, Hon'ble Dr. Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Hon'ble Shri. Madhu Gaud Yakshi, Hon'ble Shri. Ranjit Sinh Mohite Patil, Hon'ble Mr. Justice Dalveer Bhandari, Member, International Court of Justice.

The College also has the privilege of associating with Senior Advocates like Hon'ble Shri. Ram Jethmalani, P.P. Rao, Soli J Sorabjee, Kapil Sibal, M.C. Mehta, Ms. Geeta Luthra & Pinky Anand etc.

Within a very short span of time, Justice P.N. Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition has earned a great reputation at national and international echelon and is one of the most revered international moot court competitions on human rights across the globe. Justice P.N. Bhagwati 1st Moot Court Competition 2011 was inaugurated by Hon'ble Dr. M. Veerappa Moily, the then Union Minister for Law & Justice, in the august presence of Hon'ble Mr. Justice P.N. Bhagwati, Former Chief Justice of India. Justice P.N. Bhagwati 2nd International Moot Court Competition on Human Rights 2012 was inaugurated by Hon'ble Dr. Justice Balbir Singh Chauhan, the then Judge, Supreme Court of India.

While the 3rd edition of this Competition witnessed the blissful visits of by Hon'ble Mr. Justice Dipak Misra, Chief Justice of India and Hon'ble Mr. Justice Jasti Chelameswar, Judge, Supreme Court of India, 4th Justice P.N. Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition was graced by Hon'ble Mr. Justice Shiva Kirti Singh, Judge, Supreme Court of India and the prizes were distributed by Hon'ble Mr. Justice N.V. Ramana, Judge, Supreme Court of India. Similarly, the 5th Justice P.N. Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition was inaugurated by Hon'ble Mr. Justice Dipak Misra, Chief Justice of India. While 6th Justice P.N. Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition was graced by Hon'ble Mr. Justice V. Gopala Gowda, Judge, Supreme Court of India and other dignitaries.

Last year, the 7<sup>th</sup> Justice P.N. Bhagwati International Moot Court Competition was inaugurated by **Hon'ble Mr. Justice R.K. Agrawal,** Judge, Supreme Court of India and was also graced by the majestic presence of Hon'ble Mr. K.T.S. Tulsi, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India.

This year also saw the flamboyant organization of the Surana & Surana National trial Advocacy Moot court Competition on Criminal Law which was graced by Hon'ble Mr. Justice A.K. Sikri, Judge, Supreme Court of India and in which top 20 teams from the Western India participated.

More than 14 international teams from Europe, US, Asia and Africa as well as nearly 40 teams from top law schools in India participate in this prestigious competition every year. However, this year participation of teams shall be restricted only to 20 teams on early bird registration basis.

The official last date to register for the competition is 30<sup>th</sup> January, 2018 and participants are requested, due to the 20 teams' cap, to register at earliest in order to ensure their participation.

The Moot Court problem, Official Schedule, & the official rules & regulations governing the competition are enclosed here with. Kindly confirm your law school's participation and let us know the team's travel plans at the earliest after registering before the due date.

You may contact the following persons: **Prof. Aman Mishra**: +91 9637109415 amanmishra579@gmail.com

Thank you.

NEW LAW COLLEGE COLLEGE

Yours sincerely,

Prof. Dr. Mukund Sarda

Dean & Principal,

Bharati Vidyapeeth Deemed University

New Law College, Pune-038

Maharashtra (INDIA)

Mo: +91 9850898101

Email: <u>mukund.sarda@yahoo.co.in</u> Website: www.bvpnlcpune.org